Valentines High School

VHS Curriculum and Assessment

Valentines High School aims to offer a curriculum which :-

  • is available to all pupils and is designed so that all pupils, including those who may be at risk of underachievement or social exclusion can participate.
  • develops further our Teaching School Ethos.
  • prepares pupils for living in a diverse society and for an effective and purposeful adult and working life.
  • implements the revised National Curriculum
  • using the increased flexibility it allows to personalise the curriculum to meet the needs of all our pupils.
  • aims to broaden pupils’ experiences through curriculum design and delivery in order to engage them more in school, thereby boosting their self-confidence.


As part of the government’s reforms to the National Curriculum, the requirement to report your child’s attainment at Key Stage 3 using national curriculum levels will be removed. Valentines, like other schools, will be able to introduce our own approaches to formative assessment to support pupil attainment and progress. This assessment is being phased into the school curriculum, so that we can check what pupils have learned and whether they are on track to meet expectations at the end of the Key Stage.

Assessment in National Curriculum Subjects Key Stage 3

Years 8 and 9

In September 2014, the Government’s reforms to the National Curriculum removed the requirement to report attainment using National Curriculum levels at KS3. From September 2015 students in Years 8 and 9 will continue to be assessed using Curriculum levels these will be known as School Levels. New Levels have been devised to fit the requirements of the new Key Stage 3 Curriculum.

Year 7

From September 2015, students in Year 7 will be assessed using a nine point scale that corresponds to the new GCSE grading system which will be applied to all subjects at the end of Key Stage 4 from 2018 (Maths and English 2017). The points on the nine point scale will be referred to as Steps. A table providing approximate equivalences is given below:

Step NC Level GCSE Grade
Foundation B-2 U
1 3 F/G
2 4 E/F
3 5 D/E
4 6 C
5 7 B
6 8 A/B
7 EP A
8 NA A/A*
9 NA A*

Key Stage 3 Curriculum

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

As part of the Key Stage 4 Curriculum all students will study the following compulsory subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Religious Education, Physical Education, Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE), Work Related Learning and Computing. Students pick four optional subjects from one of the four pathways shown in the options booklet available at the link below.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum  -  Year 10 Options Booklet

Key Stage 5 Curriculum

For further information about the curriculum, please contact Mrs S Forster via the school office.

List of Departmental Staff 2018